Girls Reaching to Achieve in Sports & Physics (GRASP)

5th Annual GRASP Summer Camp
First Session: June 11-15, 2012
Second Session: June 18-22, 2012

2012 GRASP Activities

Monday June 11 & 18
Tuesday June 12 & 19
Wednesday June 13 & 20
Thursday June 14 & 21
Friday June 15 & 22
Pictured left: The participants and volunteers of the first and second sessions of the 2012 GRASP summer camp at COSI.


Program Leaders


Robin Wyatt
GRASP Co-Director
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Lindsey Thaler
GRASP Co-Director
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies

Funding Coordinator - Enam Chowdhury

2012 Officers of the Society of Women in Physics:

Anastasia Lawson - President
Marisa Mulac - Vice President
Amy Weisman - Secretary


2012 GRASP Contributors & Volunteers

Thank you to The Ohio State University Department of Physics, SCHOTT North America, Inc., The Ohio State University Graduate Women in Physics (GWiP) Organization, and OSU's Center for Cosmology and AstroParticle Physics (CCAPP) for their generous help in funding the 2012 GRASP Summer Camp.

Day Presenter Lecture Demo Physical Activity
Monday Dr. Nancy Santagata Physics of Football Catapults Football
Tuesday Graduate Women in Physics Physics of Ice Skating No Demo Ice Skating
Wednesday Dr. Mike Lisa (June 13) and Dr. Amy Connolly (June 20) Physics of Kickboxing Build Gliders Kickboxing
Thursday No Presenter Field trip to COSI No Demo No Physical Activity
Friday Dr. Linn Van Woerkom Demo Show Liquid Nitrogen Ice Cream Climbing Wall

The Society of Women in Physics and the Physics Office of Undergraduate Studies would like to thank all the presenters for their wonderful lectures and demonstrations.

Special Thanks

Faculty and Staff

John Beacom
Terry Bradley
Chris Healy
Richard Hughes
John Langkals
Michelle McCombs
Shelley Palmer
Mark Reed
Todd Thompson
Harold Whitt
Brian Winer

Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, and Post-Docs

Archana Anandakrishnan
Emily Babbert
Anne Benjamin
Michael Bettencourt
Johnny Greco
Marci Howdyshell
Adam Hueve
Anastasia Lawson
Njoki Mwangi
Kishan Patel
Becca Reesman
Jon Ruben
Christian Schnaible
Aleks Shkayev
Jasneet Singh
Eric Suchyta
Matt Warren
Morgan Welsh
Brandon Wilson