Girls Reaching to Achieve in Sports & Physics (GRASP)

4th Annual GRASP Summer Camp
First Session: June 13-17, 2011
Second Session: June 20-24, 2011

2011 GRASP Activities

Monday June 13 & 20
Tuesday June 14 & 21
Wednesday June 15 & 22
Thursday June 16 & 23
Friday June 17 & 24
Pictured left: The participants and volunteers of the first and second sessions of the 2011 GRASP summer camp with the OSU football players that assisted in the football session of the camp.


Program Leaders


Robin Wyatt
GRASP Co-Director
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Lindsey Thaler
GRASP Co-Director
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies

2011 Officers of the Society of Women in Physics:

Anastasia Lawson - President
Marisa Mulac - Vice President
Amy Weisman - Secretary


2011 GRASP Contributors & Volunteers

Thank you to the The Ohio State University Department of Physics, Center for Emergent Materials (CEM), and Continuum Lasers for their generous help in funding the 2011 GRASP Summer Camp.
Day Presenter Lecture Demo Physical Activity
Monday Dr. Amy Connolly (June 13) Richard Hughes (June 20) Projectile Motion Catapults Football
Tuesday Dr. Adam Hauser (June 14) Dr. Nancy Santagata (June 21) Physics of Gymnastics & Bikes Physics of Bicycles Gymnastics
Wednesday Dr. Brian Winer Physics of Archery Build Gliders Archery
Thursday No Presenter Field trip to COSI No Demo No Physical Activity
Friday Dr. Linn Van Woerkom Demo Show Liquid Nitrogen Ice Cream Climbing Wall

The Society of Women in Physics and the Physics Office of Undergraduate Studies would like to thank all the presenters for their wonderful lectures and demonstrations.

Special Thanks

Faculty and Staff

Terry Bradley
Josh Gueth
Jay Gupta
Chris Hammel
Chris Healy
John Langkals
Michael Lisa
Michelle McCombs
Jon Pelz
Michael Poirier
Mark Reed
Harold Whitt

Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, and Post-Docs

Ayden Ables
Snow Balaz
Andrew Berger
Kelsey Bergfeld
Michael Bettencourt
Jonathan Bird
Audrey Coble
William Cole
John Draskovic
Danielle Kelly
Anastasia Lawson
Tricia Meyer
Edward McCary
Ethan Palay
Eric Pena
Spencer Porter
Rebecca Reesman
Rebecca Ricciardo
Rebecca Rosenblatt
Perrin Schiebel
Richelle Teeling
Cameron Teichergraeber
Caitlin Toohey
Amita Wadegra
Brandon Wilson
Stephanie Winkler
Howard Yu