Girls Reaching to Achieve in Sports & Physics (GRASP)

3rd Annual GRASP Summer Camp
First Session: June 14-18, 2010
Second Session: June 21-25, 2010

2010 GRASP Activities

Monday June 14 & 21
Tuesday June 15 & 22
Wednesday June 16 & 23
Thursday June 17 & 24
Friday June 18 & 25
Pictured left: The participants and volunteers of the first and second sessions of the 2010 GRASP summer camp.


Program Leaders


Amy Javorek
GRASP Student Leader
President of Society of Women in Physics
Robin Wyatt
GRASP Co-Director
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Lindsey Perry
GRASP Co-Director
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies

2010 Officers of the Society of Women in Physics:

Amy Javorek - President
Brittany Taylor - Vice President
Mallory Molina - Treasurer


2010 GRASP Contributors & Volunteers

Thank you to the Center for Emergent Materials (CEM) and the Department of Physics at The Ohio State University for their generous help in funding the 2010 GRASP Summer Camp.
Day Presenter Lecture Demo Physical Activity
Monday Dr. Richard Hughes Projectile Motion Catapults Football
Tuesday Dr. Nancy Santagata (June 15) Dr. Tom Lemberger (June 22) Physics of a Biathlon Physics of Bicycles Swimming
Wednesday Dr. Sabine Jeschonnek (June 16) Dr. Brian Winer (June 23) Physics of Archery Build Gliders Archery
Thursday No Presenter Field trip to COSI No Demo No Physical Activity
Friday Dr. Linn Van Woerkom "Things You should Never Put in a Microwave" Various Demos Climbing Wall

The Society of Women in Physics and the Physics Office of Undergraduate Studies would like to thank all the presenters for their wonderful lectures and demonstrations.

Special Thanks

Faculty and Staff

Terry Bradley
Jackie Buell
Ellen Copeland
Phil Davids
Jay Gupta
Chris Healy
John Langkals
Shelly Nelson
Mark Reed
Harold Whitt

Undergraduate and Graduate Students

Ayden Ables
Jonathan Bird
Jake Connors
Dina Drozdov
Kate Grier
Amy Javorek
Danielle Kelly
Elizabeth Kennedy
Edward McCary
Caryn Palatchi
Nathan Rapport
Rebecca Reesman
Rebecca Ricciardo
Becky Rosenblatt
Perrin Schiebel
Kate Schlesinger
Brittany Taylor
Richelle Teeling
Abby Ward
Morgan Welsh
Stephanie Winkler