Medium Paper and 20-Minute Talk

 

Autumn 99 Deadline dates for Medium Paper

 

Element

Topic

Draft

Referee Report

Final Version

Day

Wednesday 13 Oct

Monday 18 Oct

Friday 22 Oct

Wednesday 27 Oct

Time/Location

9 am email

5 pm Main Office

10am Main Office

5 pm Main office

 

Medium-Paper/20-Minute-Talk Assignments

 

Name

Topic of Medium Paper/Talk

Date of 10-Minute Talk

 

 

 

David Wilhelm

The future of using F1-ATPase to power nano-electro-mechanical systems

Monday 8 Nov

Larry Sanders

Positron emission tomography

Tuesday 9 Nov

Nathan Nelson

Sickle cell anemia and malarial resistance

Wednesday 10 Nov

Patrick McCarren

Chromatography: the task of separation

Friday 12 Nov

Jill Jacobs

Using the Doppler shift to detect extrasolar planets

Monday 15 Nov

Joshua Holt

A short overview of fuel cells

Wednesday 17 Nov

John Gerstenlager

Thunderstorms

Thursday 18 Nov

Matt Dorsten

Effective field theory for nuclear physics

Friday 19 Nov

Chris Disilvestri

Tsunamis, great treacherous waves of the ocean

Monday 22 Nov

Matt Buoni

Pumping a swing

Tuesday 23 Nov

Mike Ackerman

How genetic algorithms are used to find numerical solutions to problems

Monday 29 Nov

Jason Wright

The theory of neural networks, focusing on the perceptron network

Tuesday 30 Nov

Garrett Wonders

Radiation effects on human health and the linear no-threshold hypothesis

Wednesday 1 Dec

 

Speakers may interchange dates. After such a switch,
please email the switched dates to me and Tom Barrett.


Your comments and suggestions are appreciated.


Want to print this page? Use this version.