Begin OSU masthead and toolbar

The Ohio State University

blank OSU / College of Mathematical and Physical Sciences / Physics
Department of Physics
Contact the Physics Department
Directory (search engine)

Calendar of seminars, colloquiums, and special events
Seminars and Colloquiums
News (announcements, awards, specials events)
Information about contacting or visiting us, OSU, Columbus
Jobs in Physics at OSU

Research groups
Courses (descriptions and pages, links to registrar)
Undergrad Study (information for physics majors)
Graduate Study (information for graduate students)
Faculty (information for department faculty)
Facilities Engineering

Information for Alumni
Physics Department Magazine

Physics Department News

All Years 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000


Physics Picnic includes announcement of University Distinguished Staff Award

The annual Dept of Physics picnic was a great success. Thanks go to Kent Ludwig and his crew of grillers and all of the staff and students who helped set up, tear down and enjoy the food and fellowship. In addition to the many awards given to students and staff, the award portion of the program was kicked off by the surprise announcement to Bob Wells that he was the recipient of one of 12 annual Distinguished Staff Awards. Following this announcement, John Whitcomb, former dept. manager and the namesake of the Dept. Distinguished Staff Awards, presented Distinguished Staff Awards to Bob Wells, Harold Whitt and Yavonne McGarry. Runners up, Denis Pelekhov and Karen Kitts were recognized as well.

Awards were then presented to various students and faculty (listed below) culminating in the awarding of the inaugural William R. Riley Excellence in Teaching Physics Award to Daniel Kestner. Dr. Norman L. Gearhart Jr and his wife Reverend Carolyn L. Piper are the gracious donors of the funds for this annual award and were in attendance to announce the award along with its namesake, Professor Emeritus, Bill Riley.

Other awards presented on May 26, 2011 include:

Clifford Heer Scholarship: Greg Vieira, Zhi Qui

David DeMartini Scholarship: Paul Rimmer

Bunny and Tom Clark Scholarship: Morgan Welsh

Hazel Brown Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award:

Adam Ahmed, John Campbell, Austin Carter, Aleya Dhanji, John Draskovic, Kevin George, Christopher Pluberg, Ryan Schmidt

AAPT 2011 Outstanding Teaching Assistant of the Year: Ryan Schmidt

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award: Robert Perry

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award: Samir Mathur

search PEOPLE search COURSES search SITE

191 W. Woodruff Ave, Columbus Ohio 43210  tel:614.292.5713  fax:614.292.7557